2016 – no one ever kissed me a liberation, a revolution, an uprising in mid-march

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-13-27-15

no one ever kissed me a liberation, a revolution,
an uprising in mid-march

strawberry laces held my trainers together when i was small –
i wanted to smell nice for the ants
i wanted to intrude their home as politely as
i could,
an apology for being so large but
please forgive me with my
strawberry shoe laces

when i got older my tongue had it’s own
strawberry shoe laces
it’s own moments
when the laces would
restrict and say sorry for the intrusion –
forgive me
when you kissed me you melted the strawberry
the laces fell to gooey ruins at the
bottom of my mouth
and now i’ve swallowed it all –
i feel butterflies when i open my
mouth, as the laces try to reform
but i manage to speak without
forgiveness – i say

“come back to me – i miss the way you kissed me.”

Leave a Reply

